New Directions

I know that my garden is new, barely established even, but I have a bad case of horticultural wanderlust.  Here in the dead of winter I am feeling the strong pull of the tropics; bright sunshine, soft breezes wafting lush fragrance and warm gentle rains.

So I have decided a renovation is in order.  Craving an exotic look I have invested in a few new specimen trees.  What do you think?

These palms should provide the right effect

These should begin to create the ambience I’m seeking.  Using the principle of borrowing a view, I will try to frame this lovely vista…

If the view is there...

A colourful hedge will give privacy from the neighbours and the road.  I can’t decide which I like better, Hibiscus

Bright-eyed beauty

Or Bougainvillea

Pretty in pink

I can probably use both.

In keeping with my love of productive gardening I will have to include a few new fruit trees!

Yummy fresh bananas!

With a new garden like this I will stave off the dreaded winter blues, and maintain a cheery disposition until spring rolls around again.

No, I haven’t quite lost my mind, but I was fortunate enough to enjoy a visit to the lovely island of Maui recently, and wanted to share some of my pictures.

I feel rejuvenated by my stint in the sun and warmth, fully charged up with vitamin D, and I shake my fist at Old Man Winter.  Go on, throw your worst at me, I have a tan, and I will survive!

Aloha

About hortophile

I am a very opinionated, slightly obsessed gardener with decades of experience in the retail nursery industry. A lucky resident of the "Wet Coast" of British Columbia I tread a muddy path between practicality and beauty, with my veggie patch, herb garden and fruits vying for position with the beautiful trees, shrubs and flowers that I can't resist. DON'T ask me to choose between them! I believe in environmental responsibility and common sense.
This entry was posted in New Garden and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to New Directions

  1. Jodi Harding says:

    Looks like all that sun addled your brain.

  2. Dawn says:

    I’d go with the hibiscus, it is easier to spell. Ah, Maui, I remember the warmth. Here it is minus 1 degree at 7pm.

  3. I finally got this site to go….hehehe..how does it feel being home? Looking forward to the snow tomorrow?

Leave a Reply

