Jodi’s Leek Soup

As requested, here is my sister’s recipe for delicious leek soup.  This recipe inspired me to try growing leeks.  I found them really easy to grow and low maintenance too; they just sit in the garden all winter and I harvest them as needed.

Homegrown Leeks

Harvested today!

Ingredients

3 large leeks, cleaned and thinly sliced

3 bay leaves

25 whole black peppercorns

4 sprigs fresh thyme

2 tbsp butter

¾ cup white wine

6 cups strong chicken stock

4-5 medium-sized potatoes, peeled and diced

1 cup light cream

sliced leeks and the bouquet garni

Salt and pepper to taste

Make a bouquet garni of the bay leaves, peppercorns and thyme.  You can wrap them in a large leek leaf and tie it up or just use a cheesecloth wrapping (tied up so those peppercorns don’t escape).

Melt the butter and cook the leeks over medium heat til softened (5-10 mins)

Add the wine and bring just to a boil

Add the bouquet garni, chicken stock, potatoes and simmer til the potatoes are soft.

Remove the bouquet garni and purée the soup.  I use a handheld immersion blender and it works like a charm.  Before I had the blender I poured the soup into my standard blender to purée, always made a mess and usually burned myself in the process!

Stir in the cream and season to taste with salt and pepper.

Enjoy!

leek soup

Mmmmmm, comfort food!

About hortophile

I am a very opinionated, slightly obsessed gardener with decades of experience in the retail nursery industry. A lucky resident of the "Wet Coast" of British Columbia I tread a muddy path between practicality and beauty, with my veggie patch, herb garden and fruits vying for position with the beautiful trees, shrubs and flowers that I can't resist. DON'T ask me to choose between them! I believe in environmental responsibility and common sense.
This entry was posted in My Favourite Recipes, Vegetables and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Jodi’s Leek Soup

  1. I just love leeks :-). Admittedly, I often take spring onions instead, because leeks want a longer cooking.

  2. karenish says:

    This recipe looks delicious!

    I love leeks as well. We usually get more than we can keep up with from our CSA, but not this year. At least, not yet. I may have to try my hand at growing some myself.

  3. dgwolf says:

    Thank you! I’ll be trying this this weekend!

  4. this sounds very good. I am going to try it :)

  5. Pingback: Growing Onions | Hortophile – My New Garden

Leave a Reply

