Ode to Crocus

I’d like to narrow my focus

dedicate this post to the humble crocus

harbinger of spring

every heart that thrills to the joy

of burgeoning spring knows nature’s sly ploy

in erasing winter

snow crocus shine pristine white,

gold, mauve and purple in pale, watered light

of imperceptible warmth

giant crocus follow and soon

strong, sleek and silky they glow under moon

open wide for the sun

too quickly they fade away

replaced by the more voluptuous, outre

blooms of spring and summer

About hortophile

I am a very opinionated, slightly obsessed gardener with decades of experience in the retail nursery industry. A lucky resident of the "Wet Coast" of British Columbia I tread a muddy path between practicality and beauty, with my veggie patch, herb garden and fruits vying for position with the beautiful trees, shrubs and flowers that I can't resist. DON'T ask me to choose between them! I believe in environmental responsibility and common sense.
This entry was posted in New Garden, Spring and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to Ode to Crocus

  1. Author of the poem? Please give the name! Loved this post with the bits of poetry next to the crocus pics. Lovely.

  2. Slowvelder says:

    Lovely photos and poem! We are heading to autumn so I had to stretch my imagination :)

  3. I was about to ask who wrote the poem…hey creative spirit as well as green fingers :)
    PiP

    • hortophile says:

      I think most gardeners have a creative spirit. Appreciation of colour, form, cadence etc. I like music too, though I’m not especially musical!

      • Thank goodness you can’t sew! ;-) I can. And sing — I do sing, so I guess the moral is we’re all good at some things and not as good at others. But you sure seem awfully accomplished!

  4. kate says:

    How beautiful those yellow crocuses are (and I’m not surprised they moved you to poetry). I’d love to get more yellows, but the birds just team them apart… sigh.

    • hortophile says:

      I have tons of birds here because of the greenspace behind, but they don’t eat my crocus, thank goodness. My blueberries, on the other hand, are devoured!

  5. wildboundproject says:

    Beautiful poem, beautiful flowers. I spotted my first crocus blooms today. I hope this cold front doesn’t nip them tonight.

  6. Pingback: Crocus, lavender, purple beautyberry and pages with photos « Calogero Mira and Travel

Leave a Reply

