Barb’s Rhubarb Muffins

These are named after the friend who gave me the recipe.  I think she just calls them rhubarb muffins, but I’m not sure, she moved away several years ago – miss you Barb!

Rhubarb, from garden to table in 2 hours!

1 cup white sugar

2 cups flour

1 tsp baking soda

½ cup oil

1 egg

1 tsp vanilla

2 cups chopped rhubarb

1 cup sour milk

1 cup chopped walnuts (optional)

Topping

½ cup white sugar

1 tsp cinnamon

1 tbsp soft butter

Mix these together and top muffins before baking

Mix dry ingredients together, mix wet ingredients together, add wet to dry, mix then add fruit and nuts.  Bake at 350 f approx. 25 minutes.

Delicious Rhubarb Muffins...eat 'em while they're warmmmmmm!

These are succulent, cakey little muffins with the zing of rhubarb – yummy!

About hortophile

I am a very opinionated, slightly obsessed gardener with decades of experience in the retail nursery industry. A lucky resident of the "Wet Coast" of British Columbia I tread a muddy path between practicality and beauty, with my veggie patch, herb garden and fruits vying for position with the beautiful trees, shrubs and flowers that I can't resist. DON'T ask me to choose between them! I believe in environmental responsibility and common sense.
This entry was posted in Fruit, My Favourite Recipes and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

13 Responses to Barb’s Rhubarb Muffins

  1. I am so making those, if my rhubarb ever grows up big and strong like yours :)

  2. barb19 says:

    The rhubarb muffins look yummy (I love rhubarb), but do you really use sour milk or do you mean sour cream?

  3. I wish I had somewhere to grow anything! I can’t find rhubarb in the stores and these muffins look so good. Waaaaah!

  4. sandy says:

    I’m going to have to make these to go with my rhubarb margaritas:)

  5. For some reason I am having trouble at times trying to leave a reply. It seems this time I finally got it to work. I wish I could remedy this problem. O.K. Here is the rhubarb margarita recipe.
    RHUBARB MARGARITAS
    Ingredients
    4 cups diced rhubarb
    • 1/2 cup water
    • 1/2 cup white sugar
    • 4 cups ice
    • 2/3 cup tequila
    Directions
    1. Place the rhubarb into a saucepan, and pour in the water. Cover, and bring to a simmer over medium heat. Reduce heat to medium-low, and continue simmering until the rhubarb breaks down and releases its juices, about 15 minutes. Strain the juice, and press the pulp to squeeze out as much liquid as you can. Discard the pulp, and stir the sugar into the hot juice. Refrigerate the syrup until very cold, at least 2 hours.
    2. To prepare the margaritas, place the ice into a blender, then pour in the tequila and rhubarb syrup. Blend until smooth, or until pureed to your desired consistency. Pour into chilled margarita glasses to serve.

  6. I made the rhubarb muffins and they were absolutely delicious. Thank you for sharing the recipe. Now I must get at that jam. I too love jam better than jelly. It tastes fresher. I think when you boil down the fruit for jelly that some of the flavor is lost.

Leave a Reply

