Planting Kohlrabi

Well, I sowed my Kohlrabi seed last week, it’s been so many years since I last grew it that I can’t remember exactly what I did before, but I seem to remember it was pretty easy to grow!

Kohlrabi Superschmeltz

So I read the instructions on the packet of seed, and followed them exactly…yeah, well, more or less.  The first thing I did was to prepare my seed bed by adding some compost…

Mucky compost, dolopril lime and my trusty helper

As for those weeds in the raspberry patch behind, I removed them after sowing my seed... really...I did!

And some peat moss…

And some dolopril lime, and digging it all in.

Ready for kohlrabi seed

I planted the seed thinly in three rows.  The seed package suggested sowing them ½” apart, thinning them to 4” apart.  Well I’m no math whiz, but they want me to destroy 7 seedlings out of 8?  At a cost of 2 cents a seed?  Sounds like a good plan for them!

Yes, I could transplant those seedlings, but I have only so much room, and I’m not really sure that the family will like these unique vegetables.  Rather than waste my seedlings, I’ve just sown them very thinly and will have enough seed for the next couple years left in the package.  It does state that the usual expected seed life is three years so…

I hope everyone likes kohlrabi so I can justify giving them the garden space, they’re so bizarre looking that I would grow them just for their extraterrestrial effect!

All done!

About hortophile

I am a very opinionated, slightly obsessed gardener with decades of experience in the retail nursery industry. A lucky resident of the "Wet Coast" of British Columbia I tread a muddy path between practicality and beauty, with my veggie patch, herb garden and fruits vying for position with the beautiful trees, shrubs and flowers that I can't resist. DON'T ask me to choose between them! I believe in environmental responsibility and common sense.
This entry was posted in New Garden, Vegetables and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Planting Kohlrabi

  1. Hey…you posted a day early, are you trying to mess me up? Won’t see you til Saturday, off tomorrow to work Sat instead. Have fun!!!

  2. barb19 says:

    Don’t think I’ve ever tasted kohlrabi. I’ll be interested to see how it grows, so looking forward to more posts on it’s progress!

  3. Lots of work. I will be interested to see the kohlrabi as it grows. How do you cook it? I’ve never eaten it, I don’t think. I agree that you shouldn’t thin all the seeds. Why do they always suggest that?!

  4. Pingback: Sowing Kohlrabi « Gardora.net

Leave a Reply

