Fresh Salad

I love this time of the year!  Salad from the garden without any store-bought added veggies is a luxury.

I made this salad a few days ago, harvested in the late afternoon and ate it for supper – you can’t get it any fresher unless you just stand out in the garden stuffing your face!

Ingredients are, clockwise from the radishes:

Fresh from the garden

  • Cherry Belle Radish
  • White Icicle Radish
  • Egyptian Walking Onions
  • Baby Romaine Lettuce
  • Tendergreen Mustard Greens
  • Outredgeous Lettuce
  • Tyee Spinach, and
  • Sorrel

You can’t see it but there’s also a sweet little green known variously as Corn Salad, Vit and Mache.

And this is the finished salad – so fresh it almost slapped me!

Want some?

About hortophile

I am a very opinionated, slightly obsessed gardener with decades of experience in the retail nursery industry. A lucky resident of the "Wet Coast" of British Columbia I tread a muddy path between practicality and beauty, with my veggie patch, herb garden and fruits vying for position with the beautiful trees, shrubs and flowers that I can't resist. DON'T ask me to choose between them! I believe in environmental responsibility and common sense.
This entry was posted in Spring, Vegetables and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Fresh Salad

  1. barb19 says:

    Yummy – I’d love some, it looks so amazingly fresh and ready to eat!
    Can’t beat growing your own and serving it up on the table for everyone to enjoy, knowing you are giving your family the absolute best.

  2. ohanabee says:

    looks delicious!!! i like to add fresh lemon juice to my salads

  3. I love spring :) I stand out in the garden and munch down my arugula…can’t wait til my peas are ready!!

  4. What a feast! Our lettuce have now bolted so I need to get some more planted :(
    I can’t get all my salad stuff to be ready at the same time. Still something is better than nothing :)
    PiP

  5. Gorgeous. So funny — did it slap you or did you eat it too fast?

    So great to have all that variety from your own garden. Lovely.

Leave a Reply

