Kohlrabi is Delicious!

My Kohlrabi is finally growing well, so I decided to harvest the big one that germinated in the first sowing.  The globular part (modified stem?) was about 5″ across – larger than the recommended 2-3″ but the variety that I’m growing (Superschmeltz) is touted as resisting the woodiness that other kohlrabi develop as they grow.

Kohlrabi 'Superschmeltz'

I can certainly vouch for that.  I peeled the stem, sliced it thinly and served it for supper along with raw sugar snap peas, the first cucumber from the greenhouse, and some black cherry tomatoes.

The kohlrabi slices were absolutely delicious!  Sweet, juicy and super crispy, without a hint of woodiness.  We all agreed the flavour was very radish-like, but lacking the spicy radish kick.  I know they really liked it because my daughter complained that it was all gone and she only got two slices (you snooze, you lose).

Trimmed Kohlrabi, ready for peeling

I guess I’ll have to harvest more than one plant next time!

About hortophile

I am a very opinionated, slightly obsessed gardener with decades of experience in the retail nursery industry. A lucky resident of the "Wet Coast" of British Columbia I tread a muddy path between practicality and beauty, with my veggie patch, herb garden and fruits vying for position with the beautiful trees, shrubs and flowers that I can't resist. DON'T ask me to choose between them! I believe in environmental responsibility and common sense.
This entry was posted in Summer, Vegetables and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Kohlrabi is Delicious!

  1. Yummy :) I am trying your carrot planting directions too!! See ya Monday :)

  2. barb19 says:

    Congrats! So now you need to plant more to keep everyone happy!

Leave a Reply

