Happy Hens = Many Eggs!

If, as they say, happy hens lay more eggs, then my girls must be joyous!  Egg production has ramped up considerably, today I got 6 (from 6 hens).  Can’t expect any better than that!

Fresh eggs

I recently screwed up my courage and let them out of their run for a little free-range time, which they enjoyed immensely, although they didn’t stray far from the safety of their home.

Happy hens and their first taste of freedom

They had a grand time munching on my lawn (and a few plants in the garden).  I don’t know how much free time they will get though, they’re pretty destructive, and they get plenty of greens already – as well as some kitchen scraps I have taken to chucking most of the weeds I pull into the run for them to eat.  My compost may suffer from a lack of material, but I figure that I can just shovel out the bottom of the chicken run periodically and add that to the compost.

Besides, it’s much safer for the hens inside the run, there are a lot of eagles around here (and other birds of prey) who would certainly enjoy a nice chicken dinner if given half a chance…

Keep an eye on the sky, girls!

My plan for dinner tomorrow is – eggs!  I’m not yet sure what I’ll do with them, maybe a nice frittata.  I think I need to discover more egg-based dishes, anybody have a favourite they wish to share?

From this angle you can see the variation in size of these eggs, the biggest are now the size of a store-bought "large" egg.

 

About hortophile

I am a very opinionated, slightly obsessed gardener with decades of experience in the retail nursery industry. A lucky resident of the "Wet Coast" of British Columbia I tread a muddy path between practicality and beauty, with my veggie patch, herb garden and fruits vying for position with the beautiful trees, shrubs and flowers that I can't resist. DON'T ask me to choose between them! I believe in environmental responsibility and common sense.
This entry was posted in Backyard Chickens, New Garden and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Happy Hens = Many Eggs!

  1. Woot!!! You should make quiche!!! Yumm….see ya tomorrow..

  2. Happy Hens indeed! They have gotten so big :)

  3. Wow, how exciting! You have so many eggs. And didn’t you just get the first one pretty recently? I suppose you could try a souffle. I never have, but understand they’re not really all that difficult — kind of like risotto (which is really not hard to make at all). I love quiche. You can put anything in a quiche and it’s usually flavorful. And if you don’t like making crusts, there’s always the refrigerated kind, which are really quite acceptable.

Leave a Reply

