Lucky Me

Campbell River Garden CentreTo all those people who have to drag themselves in to a job they hate, or that is boring or otherwise unsatisfactory – I’m so sorry!  Especially at this time of year, when each day at the garden centre brings new and interesting plants along with the developing beauty of all that we stock.Campbell River Garden Centre

The customers that I talk to are also, for the most part, in a good frame of mind because they’re happy to be there, treating themselves to some beautiful ornamental plants or delicious edibles.

Delicious fresh vegetables - ready to plant in your garden

Delicious fresh vegetables – ready to plant in your garden

My employers and coworkers are awesome people too, and just as crazy about horticulture as I am, though each of us has different preferences and passions.  I’m pretty much omnivorous in my appetite for growing – fruit, veggies, trees, shrubs, perennials, annuals, vines, new introductions, old classics; I love ‘em all!Hellebore at the garden centre

I’m trying to teach myself to drink in all the beauty while I’m at work, rather than buying one of everything that I like – I have only so much room in my garden.  Fortunately I have a fairly big (and always expanding) garden, so I can usually find a spot for the plants I MUST have.

Osteospermum

Osteospermum, lovely AND deer resistant!

Of course, it’s easy to enjoy working at the garden centre on a sunny spring day, but I’ve put in my fair share of days clad in a fetching suit of yellow rubber rain gear, slogging through the mud toting and heeling in big, heavy trees in sideways sleet.  On those days I don’t feel so lucky…rainy days and rain gear

But I won’t complain – these days I’m only at the garden centre a couple of days a week, and then I spend much of my time flapping my jaw – somehow I’ve become the go-to person for answering questions!  I know there are a lot of people who know a lot more than I, because I don’t specialize in any one aspect of horticulture, but I guess I have a fairly broad base of knowledge, and certainly no lack of opinion!

Which are your favourite tomato varieties?

Which are your favourite tomato varieties?

Lucky me, to be able to indulge my passion through my job, I’ll never get (monetarily) rich working at the garden centre, but I am richly rewarded.Campbell River Garden Centre

About hortophile

I am a very opinionated, slightly obsessed gardener with decades of experience in the retail nursery industry. A lucky resident of the "Wet Coast" of British Columbia I tread a muddy path between practicality and beauty, with my veggie patch, herb garden and fruits vying for position with the beautiful trees, shrubs and flowers that I can't resist. DON'T ask me to choose between them! I believe in environmental responsibility and common sense.
This entry was posted in Spring and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to Lucky Me

  1. Ruth says:

    Wow, those tomato plants look huge. You are a lucky girl.

  2. Nadezda says:

    Hello, I’m the first time in your blog. You’re lucky, yes! I like to go shopping to the gardeners centres, too. I bought the new rhododendron in my last visit. Happy spring,
    Nadezda

  3. barb19 says:

    You are very lucky, having a job that you love with such a passion, and I envy you. Sure you may never get rich from it, but you have job satisfaction and that is worth more than riches.

  4. Are Osteospermum rabbit resistant as well?

  5. Sigh….
    Working in a garden centre would also be my dream job :) When I was in the UK and working full time I used to disapear every saturday to look round garden centres. It sort of destressed me.

    Osteospermum, I think this is the plant we have growing here like a weed.

  6. Pingback: Sunny, Busy Saturday | I choose how I will spend the rest of my life

Leave a Reply

