Coral Sunset Peony

I bought my Coral Sunset Peony in 2009, and this is the first year it’s bloomed for me.  Until this year (2012) I enjoyed the lush, glossy green foliage it produces, but now I can swoon over the delectable, uniquely coloured, enormous blossoms.

Coral Sunset Peony

Coral Sunset Peony

Peonies are one of my favourite plants because of the amazing beauty of their flowers, their lush, glossy foliage (which often colours beautifully in the fall) and the sheer diversity of peonies on the whole.  There are so many peonies you could spend a lifetime immersed in growing and studying them, and there are those who do!

Coral Sunset Peony on a cloudy day

Coral Sunset Peony on a cloudy day

I’m not that focussed, but I have a reasonable collection of peonies, mostly because they are deer resistant!  There are several in my front garden and I’ve yet to lose even a leaflet to the marauding venison.  I did have a customer come into the garden centre last year and tell me that deer nipped all the buds from her peonies, but they haven’t touched mine yet.

Inside a Coral Sunset Peony

Inside a Coral Sunset Peony

The thing with peonies is that they don’t fit well into our modern credo of instant gratification.  With peonies what you need is PATIENCE!  When you buy a peony you are investing in the future, you might have to wait a few years to get that big lush plant and copious blooms, but the wait is truly worth it, trust me!  If you want instant – go buy a geranium.

Beside a Coral Sunset Peony

Beside a Coral Sunset Peony

Hybridized in 1965 by Wissing, Coral Sunset is a highly rated, multi-award winning cultivar, achieving the American Peony Society Gold Medal in 2003 and an Award of Landscape Merit in 2009.

Coral Sunset Peony aging gracefully

Coral Sunset Peony aging gracefully

My Coral Sunset Peony is now rewarding my patience with a generous display of flowers, and they are a mouth-watering shade of coral when they first open, fading through soft peach on their way to a creamy butter-yellow hue.  They are lightly fragrant, as I’d read, but I find they have that particularly peony-like pungency that doesn’t exactly register as pleasant to me.  That I can easily forgive, after all, I needn’t bury my nose inside the bloom to appreciate its beauty.

About hortophile

I am a very opinionated, slightly obsessed gardener with decades of experience in the retail nursery industry. A lucky resident of the "Wet Coast" of British Columbia I tread a muddy path between practicality and beauty, with my veggie patch, herb garden and fruits vying for position with the beautiful trees, shrubs and flowers that I can't resist. DON'T ask me to choose between them! I believe in environmental responsibility and common sense.
This entry was posted in Deer resistant plants, Front Garden, My Favourite Plants and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Coral Sunset Peony

  1. barb19 says:

    I’ve never seen such a gorgeous colour in a flower – your beautiful peony was well worth the wait, it’s absolutely breathtaking!

  2. Peonies are one of my faves, too! I had several peony bushes when I had a garden, and they took 3 years to bloom. You are right, it takes patience to appreciate peonies. I remember how much I anticipated the very first flower. And they are such spectacular flowers. I can’t wait to have another garden, in which I will surely plant peonies. I will look for this one, the Coral Sunset, as it is really lovely. Thanks again for sharing the pics of your beautiful garden, through which I live vicariously!

  3. Ibukun says:

    This flower is lovely indeed. Your passion for flowers and gardening is very impressive. I enjoyed reading this blog post, it makes me want to start working my garden. In fact I think I am going to start planting flowers soon. They have a way of making a place come alive and look amazing in the summer! Keep the great posts coming!

Leave a Reply

