My New Garden in July – Abundant Beauty!

I must apologize for neglecting my blog, life has been busy!  Summer has finally arrived and with it a glut of fresh produce and beautiful blooms.  Although it wasn’t a great year for strawberries (many turned to mush and rot before the sun decided to make an appearance) my raspberries are producing a bumper crop.  I’ve scarfed fresh snap peas and carrots almost every night this week and I’m thrilled with the biggest onions that I’ve ever grown…ever!

In July many flowering plants in my garden are putting on a show, every day I wander about, exclaiming to the family, ‘Take a look at THIS one, isn’t that gorgeous?’ while they smile patiently (and roll their eyes).

Here’s some pics I’ve taken recently in my new garden.

Asiatic Lilies

Asiatic Lilies

Clematis florida sieboldii

Clematis florida sieboldii

Lemon Queen Sunflower - a bit of a mutant

Lemon Queen Sunflower – a bit of a mutant

Big Beef Tomato

Big Beef Tomato

Clematis and Campanula

Clematis and Campanula

 

About hortophile

I am a very opinionated, slightly obsessed gardener with decades of experience in the retail nursery industry. A lucky resident of the "Wet Coast" of British Columbia I tread a muddy path between practicality and beauty, with my veggie patch, herb garden and fruits vying for position with the beautiful trees, shrubs and flowers that I can't resist. DON'T ask me to choose between them! I believe in environmental responsibility and common sense.
This entry was posted in New Garden, Summer and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to My New Garden in July – Abundant Beauty!

  1. barb19 says:

    Your garden in blooming! I love the Asiatic Lilies, so beautiful. Gardening is hard work, but it’s all worth it when you see the fruits of your labours; nothing like growing your own veg and putting it straight on the table.

  2. Anna says:

    Very nice, very lovely. I think our dogs could be related. :)

  3. kate says:

    Your lilies are just stunning – they almost look like perfect silk flowers (but much, much, much better)!

  4. Gobetween says:

    Love the flowers and the dog ;)

  5. femalefaust says:

    have you had sunflowers double up before?

  6. femalefaust says:

    your photography is stunning.

Leave a Reply

