Good Bones

My construction crew

The first winter after we moved into our home was a record-breaking cold and snowy season, so I had tons of time to plan my new garden.  In fact I was positively chafing at the bit as spring seemed to take forever to arrive.

When finally the snow receded and the ground thawed I was ready with my plan.  I started by locating the major structures like the 8’ x 24′ pergola, the three bin compost box (which was the first structure my helpful and handy husband built for me), an arbour which serves as the entry to the compost area and the general vicinity of the veggie garden.  Eventually I will have a big greenhouse running alongside my pergola, but for now I have snugged up my 6’ x 8’ greenhouse to one end of it.

So impatient to get things in the ground, I planted my apple espaliers before finishing the pergola!

I made early spring use of my hoses to lay out the beds around the back yard which I had seeded the previous fall with grass and was now growing a fine crop of white clover, black medic and plantain with a little grass in between.

The first plants to go in the ground were the trees, after visualizing all winter various planting schemes I placed them where they will grow and provide shade where I want it but allow sun where I need it, like the veggie garden.

I’m looking forward to watching my trees grow to maturity, and hope I’ve placed them in the right locations – they could be moved, but after a few years it becomes problematic without heavy equipment!

It’s amazing how different the backyard looks once these “bones” are in place, no longer a vast empty boring swath of grass and dirt, we can see a little character, hints of the garden that it will become in time.

The wisteria arbour

About hortophile

I am a very opinionated, slightly obsessed gardener with decades of experience in the retail nursery industry. A lucky resident of the "Wet Coast" of British Columbia I tread a muddy path between practicality and beauty, with my veggie patch, herb garden and fruits vying for position with the beautiful trees, shrubs and flowers that I can't resist. DON'T ask me to choose between them! I believe in environmental responsibility and common sense.
This entry was posted in Garden Plan, New Garden and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Good Bones

  1. sandy says:

    Looking forward to see it all come together. Nice arbour!

  2. Norma Brooks says:

    Great to see how determined you are. Have wanted to come to your home to meet you and pick your brain. Thanks for the blog and will stay in touch. Cheers Norma.

Leave a Reply

