My New Herb Garden

My new herb garden is an indispensable part of my new garden.  I absolutely love cooking with fresh herbs.  They can transform a humdrum dish into a gourmet delight, and raise the level of my mediocre culinary skills considerably.  Plus most of them are really easy to grow!  Many herbs attract beneficial insects and repel unwanted pests, deer generally won’t eat them and (other than basil) they aren’t prone to disease.

The key to making good use of herbs (for me) is convenience.  They need to be close at hand because if it’s bucketing rain and I have to slog out to the back of the yard for a handful of Italian Parsley, well, it’s just not happening!

My new little herb garden

The first year in my new garden I planted a small herb garden just outside the back door to the right of my patio.  The problem being that I was reluctant to build a big garden in this spot because of my two dogs.  At our last home we had a ground level patio similar to this one and I had gardens on either side of it which my dogs loved to race through every time they went in or out of the house.  Of course this behaviour resulted in much tracked-in dirt and debris, and I really didn’t want to repeat this mistake.  Hence the little garden…

It wasn't long before I realized this garden was too small!

After a while I realized that this wouldn’t be an issue here, mostly because we don’t allow the dogs to go in and out through that door.  They use the side door, so their muddy footprints are tracked into the mud room (go figure!) rather than into the main living area.

My new herb garden, complete with water feature!

So I decided I could expand the size of my herb garden and transplant the herbs I’d put in the back of the yard right up close to the house where I would use them more.  Still, I decided to plant a few buxus (boxwood) beside the patio to create a low hedge in case anyone gets the urge to run through the garden, but the dogs don’t seem interested in that corner of the yard.  At least not for chasing each other around!

Looks like a good spot for a nap

It’s wonderful having my favourite herbs just a few steps from the kitchen, I can nip out there regardless of the weather and collect the seasonings I need, no jacket required!

There are a lot more herbs I would like to plant, but it’s still not that big a garden, so I’ve tried to limit myself to the herbs I use most often.  This includes:

Ornamental Oregano "Mrs. Tingley"

  • Basil
  • Rosemary;
  • Greek Oregano;
  • Bay (laurus nobilis);
  • Sage;
  • Chives;
  • Garlic Chives;
  • Thyme;
  • Lemon Thyme;
  • Italian Parsley;
  • Triple Curled Parsley;
  • Dill;
  • Summer Savoury, and
  • Winter Savoury.

I have tucked garlic cloves in wherever I could find room and the annual herbs will shuffle around from year to year as the perennials grow larger.  This new herb garden will eventually need expanding, as I find new plants that I must have, but hopefully we’re good for a couple of seasons!

About hortophile

I am a very opinionated, slightly obsessed gardener with decades of experience in the retail nursery industry. A lucky resident of the "Wet Coast" of British Columbia I tread a muddy path between practicality and beauty, with my veggie patch, herb garden and fruits vying for position with the beautiful trees, shrubs and flowers that I can't resist. DON'T ask me to choose between them! I believe in environmental responsibility and common sense.
This entry was posted in Herb Garden, New Garden and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to My New Herb Garden

  1. Looks great, haven’t seen the expanded version before!! Bring on spring :)

  2. What do you do for the winter?

  3. whatduddoes says:

    I love the herb garden! I grew a few indoors last year, this year i want to expand out side!

  4. Love love LOVE your pics. Love looking at garden layouts.

    I used to have a garden and don’t any more (long, sad story!) but am living vicariously through you and your garden since I discovered your blog (the Freshly Pressed entry).

    Two suggestions: (1) Thai basil — it’s stronger than Italian basil and I came to prefer it for cooking when I was growing herbs. (2) Variegated sage. It’s just so beautiful.

    What about mint?! I find mint essential! I’d keep that in a container (mint is so very invasive), but still, mint in tea at the height of summer is sooooooo good! I’d recommend chocolate mint, if you can find it. You can just bring in a handful of mint, rinse it, and put it in the tea water while the bags are steeping, then take it out when you take the teabags out. Heavenly.

Leave a Reply

