May 14 – World Naked Gardening Day!

No, I am not making this up!  Check it out here.  Where I live the weather forecast  for May 14th calls for clouds, showers and a high of 14 celsius – I think I’ll keep my clothes on!

This does, however, remind me of the old gardeners method for assessing whether it is warm enough to plant those heat-loving crops like tomatoes, peppers, cukes and squash.  Drop your drawers and sit down in the garden – if the earth feels warm to your bare bum, it`s time to plant.

Happy Gardening!

About hortophile

I am a very opinionated, slightly obsessed gardener with decades of experience in the retail nursery industry. A lucky resident of the "Wet Coast" of British Columbia I tread a muddy path between practicality and beauty, with my veggie patch, herb garden and fruits vying for position with the beautiful trees, shrubs and flowers that I can't resist. DON'T ask me to choose between them! I believe in environmental responsibility and common sense.
This entry was posted in New Garden and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to May 14 – World Naked Gardening Day!

  1. Hahahahha…my neighbours think I am a freak NOW, that would totally confirm it…

  2. LOL 🙂 I read the title and thought you were joking. Don’t think I would like to sit bare faced on my garden soil…it’s alive with insects!
    PiP

  3. I used to have a friend in the 70’s who gardened topless! It was in Austin, TX (very “hippie” enclave) and she had a garden behind a lot of greenery in the city. She was very small on top and most people, if they caught a glimpse of her, thought she was a guy, but still, it was pretty ballsy of her!

    In a perfect world I’d garden nude but honestly, with all the sticks and whippy branches and bugs and dirt, I’d just end up a patchwork of mud and cuts! When I get finished gardening my clothes are usually filthy and sodden (with sweat) and when I come inside I strip and shower immediately. I’d probably just be slick all the time if I gardened nude — nothing to soak up the sweat!

    • hortophile says:

      I think my biggest issue with gardening naked would be injuries. I am safest with long sleeves and pants, once it begins to warm up and I shed layers exposing more skin I always end up with more scratches and scrapes!

  4. The Hook says:

    That’s one way to make gardening fun!

  5. Pingback: Coming Up: Gardening Naked | The Dirty Lady's Garden Gazette

Leave a Reply

