Tomatoes in my Living Room

Just a few weeks ago when the first tomato plants began arriving at the garden centre I brought some home, potted them up into larger pots and settled them onto the windowsill in my living room.

Young and well-behaved

The east-facing windows in this room are huge and the plants have grown well, perhaps too well!

Healthy Young-uns

I’m still afraid to put them out into my unheated greenhouse because the nighttime temperatures have dipped well below the recommended minimum 10 celsius.

Unruly Teenagers

The problem is that those tomatoes are getting huge.  One of them, the Black Cherry grew so tall that I had to stake it a few days ago.  Several of the plants are blooming already, and that precocious Black Cherry has even begun to set fruit!

It had better warm up soon…

Hmmmm...

About hortophile

I am a very opinionated, slightly obsessed gardener with decades of experience in the retail nursery industry. A lucky resident of the "Wet Coast" of British Columbia I tread a muddy path between practicality and beauty, with my veggie patch, herb garden and fruits vying for position with the beautiful trees, shrubs and flowers that I can't resist. DON'T ask me to choose between them! I believe in environmental responsibility and common sense.
This entry was posted in Fruit, Greenhouse, Vegetables and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Tomatoes in my Living Room

  1. Three posts in one week :) I like it!!! My black cherry got well over 10 feet tall last year, your house must be nice and cozy. Mine is struggling away in the garage, growing but not like yours are :)

  2. Pingback: Needing Grandma’s Green Thumb to Grow Tomatoes « Live Rural Newfoundland & Labrador

  3. WOW! What on earth do you feed them on? they are monsters, and in such small pots!
    They make a good privacy screen :)

    • hortophile says:

      Yes, but my husband wants me to move them before the hawthorne tree hanging over the fence from the neighbour’s yard comes into bloom. It’s supposed to get warm over the next few days so I think it’s time!

  4. barb19 says:

    Wow – they are huge – you obviously have a green thumb! I hope it warms up enough to put them outside and keep hubby happy lol!

  5. The Hook says:

    Nothing like the produce department in your home, right? Awesome post.

  6. jellykules says:

    Oh my goodness!! I grow tomato plants every year and let me just say—Great job on the mammoth plants :> should produce a very good yield of toms…Are you feeding them anything special?

Leave a Reply

