Egg Farming – My First Egg!

Fern

Four months exactly from the day I brought my baby chicks home they’ve given me my first egg.  It’s a tiny little thing, light brown, flecked with reddish marks.  The shell feels good and sturdy so I guess they’re nourished properly, but I’ll need to get some oyster shells to provide the extra calcium the hens need to continue making strong eggshells.  Time for a trip to the beach!

My first egg!

I wonder which of the girls laid this baby egg.  It could be Violet, she’s the largest.

Violet

Or maybe Fern, her comb and wattle are well-developed.

Fern

Maybe it’s Rosemary…

Rosemary

Or Sage…

Sage

Perhaps Willow has started to lay.

Willow

Possibly pretty Petal is producing!

Petal

It doesn’t really matter, I’m sure they’ll all be giving me eggs soon enough.

A tasty morsel!

About hortophile

I am a very opinionated, slightly obsessed gardener with decades of experience in the retail nursery industry. A lucky resident of the "Wet Coast" of British Columbia I tread a muddy path between practicality and beauty, with my veggie patch, herb garden and fruits vying for position with the beautiful trees, shrubs and flowers that I can't resist. DON'T ask me to choose between them! I believe in environmental responsibility and common sense.
This entry was posted in Backyard Chickens, New Garden and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to Egg Farming – My First Egg!

  1. Sweet…I know how you were waiting!! See ya tomorrow!! 🙂

  2. Slowvelder says:

    Eggcellent news! Congratulations – its a little smaller than the egg I prepared on the weekend – I wrote about it on my blog too 🙂

  3. Munira says:

    Congratulations!

  4. sharondjones says:

    Fantastic! Your girls have really grown up now! And I love the pic of your first frilly egg lol. 🙂

  5. barb19 says:

    Hey, they’ve started laying, that’s fantastic news! Now one has produced an egg, the others will follow suit and soon you will have more eggs than you know what to do with!

  6. Dawn says:

    Great news, do you feel like a grandma? I vote for Fern to be the one.

  7. Congratulations, you lucky BC resident you! Here in Ontario, we can only dream of having your urban farming laws that permit keeping small-scale chickens like that. Your girls are beautiful.

    • hortophile says:

      Maybe you ought to lobby your local politicians! There does seem to be a movement towards establishing food security even within larger urban centres – you might be able to lend your voice and help change the laws where you live..

Leave a Reply

