Betterghetti

I’m almost embarrassed to write this post, but I’ve been told that this recipe is too tasty to not share.  It’s the completely lame name of this dish that I’m embarrassed about, but I came up with it, so I have only myself to blame.  I tried to change it, but everyone just keeps calling it betterghetti – and my family swears it’s better than my regular spaghetti – so there you go!

The key ingredient in this dish is a generous batch of my finest, garden grown, vine ripened roasted tomatoes.  If you don’t have some – don’t bother!  Well, I guess you can make your own, because I haven’t enough to share…

roasted tomatoes

Ingredients

Roasted tomatoes – one batch (9”x11” glass dish, single layer)

A couple diced shallots, or half a medium-sized onion

Garlic – as much as you’d like (I use two or three good-sized cloves, to bolster the garlic in the roasted tomatoes)

A generous amount of fresh, chopped basil (to your taste)

1 large can tomato sauce (680 ml) or equivalent homemade tomato sauce

Plenty of grated Mozzarella cheese (2 cups-ish)

1 – 454 gram package of spaghetti or linguine noodles

You can also jack up the seasoning with hot chili powder for those who like it, most children (including my family, sigh) will prefer the mild version though.

Method

Mozzarella cheese

Saute the shallots in a little olive oil for a couple of minutes, add chopped garlic and sweat off a little longer.  When they’re soft, mix in the roasted tomatoes, heat through and add the tomato sauce.  Season to your taste.

Cook your pasta until al dente, drain and return to the cooking pot.  Pour the sauce over and mix well, then add the grated cheese and basil and mix until just incorporated.

This is comfort food!

Betterghetti - it's not pretty, but it's pretty tasty!

About hortophile

I am a very opinionated, slightly obsessed gardener with decades of experience in the retail nursery industry. A lucky resident of the "Wet Coast" of British Columbia I tread a muddy path between practicality and beauty, with my veggie patch, herb garden and fruits vying for position with the beautiful trees, shrubs and flowers that I can't resist. DON'T ask me to choose between them! I believe in environmental responsibility and common sense.
This entry was posted in My Favourite Recipes and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Betterghetti

  1. Looks and sounds delicious!!!! If my tomatoes ever ripen up, I will definitely make this 🙂

  2. Slowvelder says:

    Looks just like the comfort food I like so I must try it. What is your can of “tomato sauce” ? We call ketchup tomato sauce and it doesn’t come in cans – we can buy tomato puree and tomato paste (stronger more concentrated) in cans – would you suggest I try one of those?

  3. barb19 says:

    Looks delicious because I know what’s in it! Can’t wait to make some of my own.

Leave a Reply

