Planting Bulbs for Spring Colour

Today we enjoyed a reasonably nice day and I was able to get outside and do a few chores.  Planting bulbs was on the top of my list, and I’ve managed to get most of them into the ground.  For me, there’s nothing that evokes spring more than flower bulbs emerging, reaching skyward and unfolding their spring colours.

In the front garden I planted some chionodoxa ‘Pink Giant’ which blooms very early, under the maple tree.  I have some pale blue chionodoxa in the back, and look forward to seeing ‘Pink Giant’, which Helen Chestnut recommended as superior, with very large blossoms.  It’s supposed to be deer resistant; I’ll let you know…

planting bulbs for spring colour

Chionodoxa 'Pink Giant' nestled in with a skiff of bone meal

I also re-planted most of the narcissus bulbs that I lifted in early summer when their foliage had died back.  This is the first year that I’ve lifted and replanted them; it’s my strategy to foil the narcissus fly that I’ve had serious problems with.  The narcissus fly lays eggs at the base of the narcissus leaves and the larvae burrow into and devour the bulbs, but they can’t eat them if they’re not there!  This method means I don’t need to use any pesticides but it sure is a lot of extra work!  I’m feeling much less fond of narcissus than I used to…it’s nice that the deer don’t eat them, but…

Narcissus

Narcissus labelled (with my usual attention to detail) Big Frilly Yellow !?!

Tulips are beautiful, but I know better than to plant them in the front yard, at the garden centre where I work we refer to tulips as “deer crack”.  I’ve heard of deer climbing stairs up to second story sundecks to get at potted tulips!

I bought a bag containing four different varieties of orange tulips to plant in a big woven container on my back patio.  And then I just HAD to buy this lovely shrubby dogwood, Cornus sanguinea ‘Midwinter Fire’ to put in the container too, I’m looking forward to seeing the orange tulips with the peachy, orange-red of its stems.

Cornus Midwinter Fire

I know that orange isn't everyone's favourite colour, but I love it - so cheerful!

I also popped a few more plants into the container; a dwarf Balsam Fir (abies balsamea nana), a golden-hued Heather, Heucheras ‘Stormy Seas’ and ‘Georgia Peach’, and a few violas for instant colour.  These, along with the bright dogwood stems, will give me something to look at through the winter.  I couldn’t quite fit all four varieties of tulip in, but managed to stuff in 8 each of ‘Little Princess’, ‘Princess Irene’ and ‘Orange Angelique’, and so I have 8 ‘Ballerina’ tulips to put somewhere else.  Will you be planting bulbs this fall?

The Cornus 'Midwinter Fire' will look better after dropping its rather spotty leaves

The Cornus 'Midwinter Fire' will look better after dropping its rather spotty leaves

About hortophile

I am a very opinionated, slightly obsessed gardener with decades of experience in the retail nursery industry. A lucky resident of the "Wet Coast" of British Columbia I tread a muddy path between practicality and beauty, with my veggie patch, herb garden and fruits vying for position with the beautiful trees, shrubs and flowers that I can't resist. DON'T ask me to choose between them! I believe in environmental responsibility and common sense.
This entry was posted in Autumn, Deer resistant plants, Front Garden, Spring and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Planting Bulbs for Spring Colour

  1. My yard is finally ready for winter 🙂 I wish I could have mowed once more, but there is not a chance of that now 🙂 See you Tuesday!!

  2. barb19 says:

    You are going to have a beautiful Spring to look forward to from all the variety of bulbs you have planted – lots of vibrant colours in store!

Leave a Reply

