Raspberries in November

I’m pretty sure this is a personal best.  I went out to prune my raspberries the other day (the 5thto be exact) and found a small treasure…a few raspberries…in November!

Autumn Bliss raspberries, pruned and ready for winter

Autumn Bliss raspberries, pruned and ready for winter

There were some red ones too in the Autumn Bliss patch, but they were moldy and inedible.  These yellow ‘Anne’ raspberries are still sweet and delicious.

Anne raspberries - harvested in November!

Anne raspberries - harvested in November!

After a disappointing summer we’ve had a very nice fall, with lots of sunshine and not much rain (at least not much by wet coast standards) and I’ve been eating fresh raspberries on my cereal throughout September and October.  Which is not all that unusual, but I think this is the first time I`ve enjoyed raspberries in November!

About hortophile

I am a very opinionated, slightly obsessed gardener with decades of experience in the retail nursery industry. A lucky resident of the "Wet Coast" of British Columbia I tread a muddy path between practicality and beauty, with my veggie patch, herb garden and fruits vying for position with the beautiful trees, shrubs and flowers that I can't resist. DON'T ask me to choose between them! I believe in environmental responsibility and common sense.
This entry was posted in Autumn and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Raspberries in November

  1. barb19 says:

    Wow, raspberries in November is very unusual – but very welcome, and they look delicious! Lucky you!

Leave a Reply

