Fish Tacos

Fish tacos demand fresh ingredients

Fish tacos demand fresh ingredients

I know this is supposed to be a gardening blog, and I try to limit myself to posting recipes that are composed largely of produce from my garden, but I can’t resist sharing this recipe for fish tacos.  They are so very delicious that I want everybody to try them!

fish tacos

Delicious fish tacos

I can hardly wait until I can make them using fresh ingredients from my garden – right now the only home-grown ingredient I can muster up is the pickled hot peppers, about two tablespoons worth of home-grown.

fresh fish for fish tacos

Fresh sole

Ingredients

1-1  ½ lbs fresh boneless fish, cut into strips – I usually use sole but any whitefish will do

Flour, seasoned with a little sea salt and freshly cracked black pepper

Butter, or olive oil – please don’t desecrate the dish with margarine

Red onion, about 2/3 cup finely diced

Tomato, about 1 cup, finely dicedingredients for fish tacos

Cilantro, about ½ cup, chopped

Juice of half a lime

Pickled hot peppers, about 2 tbsp, diced

½ cup mayonnaise

Cumin to taste

Shredded cabbageingredients for fish tacos

Grated carrot

Crunchy taco shells or soft tortillas – whichever you prefer

Method

Rinse fish, cut into strips (I use scissors) and dredge in seasoned flour, pan fry over medium heat in butter or olive oil (or a mixture) until golden – don’t overcook!

fresh sole, coddled in butter

fresh sole, coddled in butter

Mix onion, tomato, cilantro and lime juice for an intoxicating pico de gallo to spoon over the fish – the fragrance of this stuff makes me swoon!

Stir the pickled peppers and cumin into the mayo – makes a piquant dressing for your taco

Use the grated carrot and shredded cabbage to add crunch, colour and more fresh flavours

Intoxicating pico de gallo

Intoxicating pico de gallo

I like the crunchy taco shells but the rest of my family prefers a soft taco – we agree to disagree, but we all love this dish!

These fish tacos contain few ingredients, prepared simply, and this allows the flavours to sing. The dish is, however, only as good as the ingredients you use so make sure your fish and all the veggies are as fresh as possible.

Fish tacos, ready to build!

Fish tacos, ready to build!

About hortophile

I am a very opinionated, slightly obsessed gardener with decades of experience in the retail nursery industry. A lucky resident of the "Wet Coast" of British Columbia I tread a muddy path between practicality and beauty, with my veggie patch, herb garden and fruits vying for position with the beautiful trees, shrubs and flowers that I can't resist. DON'T ask me to choose between them! I believe in environmental responsibility and common sense.
This entry was posted in My Favourite Recipes and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Fish Tacos

  1. jilliho says:

    That looks sooooo good. Definitely going to try it. Love fish tacos!

  2. Pingback: Cajun Blackened Tilapia Fish Tacos (Gluten and Dairy free!) | Done This Before

Leave a Reply

