October Harvest

 

 

Suffolk Red Seedless GrapesOur spectacular summer continues, even though the calendar says it’s autumn.  The sun, lower now in the sky, continues to shine day in and day out and rainfall is a distant memory.  Well not really, we did have a little precipitation last week, but not enough to do more than wash off dusty leaves!  At my sister’s place near Victoria, they didn’t get the rainfall we did, and her well is dangerously low.  As such it was a particularly bad time for her to have an old truck burst into flames while idling in a field surrounded by tinder dry trees, lucky for her the fire department arrived in time to douse the flames!

Buh-bye old truck!

No such excitement in my neck of the woods but today I was out in the garden harvesting more food.  I’m still picking blackberries and raspberries, next year I look forward to having a larger crop of ‘Anne’ yellow raspberries after quadrupling (at least) the space I give them.  Their flavour is just so amazing that I’m eager to make some yellow raspberry jam.  I will put it up in the smallest jars I can find and if you receive one from me you’ll know you’re one of my favourite people!

Berries in October

Berries in October

I took the last few cukes from my ‘Cucina’ mini cucumber plant and all the peppers off today, there was frost on the roofs of some houses when I took my daughter to school this morning, so it’s time…

October harvest

Peppers, cukes, carrots and grapes from the garden today! And corn, not pictured.

The peppers, all hot ones, will be dried, ground and used to flavour all sorts of dishes.  I find myself craving spicy food more and more in my old age.   One of my favourites is roasted corn on the cob with butter, lime juice and a generous sprinkling of ground super chili peppers… yummy!

Sweet corn and carrots

Sweet corn and carrots

I also harvested a big bowl of red grapes this afternoon, they are sweet and delicious!  Grapes are not a reliable crop here on the (usually) wet coast, but all the sunshine in August, September and so far this month has produced a bumper crop.  I have two varieties of seedless red grapes (my seedless green Himrod up and died over winter last year) Suffolk Red Seedless and Vanessa. They’re both tasty but if I had to choose one I would pick Vanessa, whose full clusters of grapes have a satisfying crispness, texturally toothsome.

Red seedless grapes

Red seedless grapes

Tonight we feast on roasted veggies, with sweet corn and carrots from the garden.

Roasted vegetables

Roasted vegetables

 

 

About hortophile

I am a very opinionated, slightly obsessed gardener with decades of experience in the retail nursery industry. A lucky resident of the "Wet Coast" of British Columbia I tread a muddy path between practicality and beauty, with my veggie patch, herb garden and fruits vying for position with the beautiful trees, shrubs and flowers that I can't resist. DON'T ask me to choose between them! I believe in environmental responsibility and common sense.
This entry was posted in Autumn, Fruit, Vegetables and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to October Harvest

  1. What a wonderful harvest!
    My next project is blackberries and raspeberries.Fingers crossed for me please!

  2. Looks awesome!! I am picking peppers today 🙂

  3. Oh…and I pinned you 🙂

  4. John says:

    quite a harvest!
    sorry to see that truck go, is it a dodge d150?

  5. gardenerat60 says:

    Came via Pip and am hooked. What a sensible way to live and garden! Thanks for sharing.

Leave a Reply

