My New Garden – Four Years On

Earlier this year I promised to show you how much progression I’ve seen in my garden since I started planting in this brand new yard.  It was November of 2008 when we moved in to this new house and I’ve been planting madly since.  In fact we seeded the back lawn in September of 2008, so I guess that was the very first planting we did here.

New lawn

My new lawn and a bunch of plants in pots

I have to admit that I did have a head start with plant material because I had rather a lot of mature plants and trees that I’d been container growing before moving to this property.  We brought a couple of full loads in the back of the garden centre’s one ton flatbed truck if I remember correctly.

I spent hours and hours planning the layout of my gardens, fully aware that I was going to expand my gardens as time, energy and budget allowed.  Taking careful note of the track of the sun across the sky through the previous year while we waited to get started building the house was really helpful.  When you want to grow fruit and vegetables as well as ornamental plants you have to be careful to place trees so that they don’t shade the edible gardens when they mature.

planning the garden

Laying out garden beds

The same view, 4 growing seasons later

The same view, 4 growing seasons later

 

Placing the trees and shrubs and actually planting them in the ground was a ton of work and so rewarding, but I remember feeling that it all looked a little barren when I was finished planting into each area.  It’s really difficult to envision how big those little plants will get and the most common mistake that people make when planting gardens is to overplant.  I always advise customers at the garden centre that when they’re done building a new garden it should look a little pathetic, in a few years it will look wonderful. Due to my overwhelming plant lust I sometimes I find it difficult to follow my own advice!

Here we are, four growing seasons later and some parts of my garden look as though they’ve been established for longer.  Here are some pictures from the back yard, next time I’ll show you the front garden.

Spring of 2009

Spring of 2009

Autumn 2012

Autumn 2012

Along the back fence, Spring 2009

Along the back fence, Spring 2009

Autumn 2012

Multi-graft Asian Pear Spring 2009

Multi-graft Asian Pear Spring 2009

Autumn 2012

Autumn 2012

Shindeshojo Maple in the shade garden, Spring 2009

Shindeshojo Maple in the shade garden, Spring 2009

Autumn 2012

Autumn 2012

About hortophile

I am a very opinionated, slightly obsessed gardener with decades of experience in the retail nursery industry. A lucky resident of the "Wet Coast" of British Columbia I tread a muddy path between practicality and beauty, with my veggie patch, herb garden and fruits vying for position with the beautiful trees, shrubs and flowers that I can't resist. DON'T ask me to choose between them! I believe in environmental responsibility and common sense.
This entry was posted in Garden Advice, Garden Plan, New Garden and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to My New Garden – Four Years On

  1. Looks BEAUTIFUL… 🙂

  2. barb19 says:

    Wow! What a difference, it’s a really established garden now! All your hard work has paid off; you should be very proud of yourself and what you have achieved there. It looks fabulous!

    • hortophile says:

      Thanks Barb! It can be physically challenging at times, but I always call it ‘playing’ in the garden, not working 🙂

      • barb19 says:

        Me too – ‘playing hard’! 😉 but then it’s very rewarding to sit back and look at the garden, knowing that you have done it all yourself – making it happen! It’s a feeling of great satisfaction.

  3. That’s quite the transformation! It is a shame that it can take a year or so to get the reward of all the hard work that gardening takes.

Leave a Reply

