How to Clean and Maintain Your Tools | bcliving

See on Scoop.itCommon Sense Gardening

By properly cleaning and maintaining your garden tools, you’ll add to their longevity and save money in the long run.

Janis Cormier‘s insight:

Every winter I resolve to do this, yet every spring I’m pulling out rusty tools,  with clumps of last years muck cemented on blades, tines and handles!  Maybe this winter I will find the time to treat my tools properly…

 

On the other hand, good quality tools do bear up well despite my shoddy treatment.  I remember finding a pair of Felco pruners while sifting compost a few years back.  They must have been in there at least a year and were caked in rust, but I managed to remove, well, most of it and today I’m still using those pruners!

 

Maintain your tools if you can, but at least spring for  good quality implements – they last.

See on www.bcliving.ca

About hortophile

I am a very opinionated, slightly obsessed gardener with decades of experience in the retail nursery industry. A lucky resident of the "Wet Coast" of British Columbia I tread a muddy path between practicality and beauty, with my veggie patch, herb garden and fruits vying for position with the beautiful trees, shrubs and flowers that I can't resist. DON'T ask me to choose between them! I believe in environmental responsibility and common sense.
This entry was posted in New Garden. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

