Early Fall in My New Garden

Here are a few photos of what’s happening in my new garden now…

On the first day of Autumn, the Cyclamen neapolitanum appear…

Japanese Blood Grass (Imperata cylindrica) looking beautiful

A volunteer Rudbeckia hirta – gotta love those free plants!

I think this little guy chose the wrong leaf for camouflage!

Ripening barberries

Oxydendron arboreum (Sourwood Tree) blooming and beginning to show fall colours.  I hope the deer don’t eat all the leaves before they turn like they have for the last two years!

Dahlia ‘Akita’…flaming autumnal glory

About hortophile

I am a very opinionated, slightly obsessed gardener with decades of experience in the retail nursery industry. A lucky resident of the "Wet Coast" of British Columbia I tread a muddy path between practicality and beauty, with my veggie patch, herb garden and fruits vying for position with the beautiful trees, shrubs and flowers that I can't resist. DON'T ask me to choose between them! I believe in environmental responsibility and common sense.
This entry was posted in New Garden. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Early Fall in My New Garden

  1. Looks beautiful!!! Love the froggie pic 🙂 I am still trying to find the elusive one that keeps croaking at me at work!!

  2. That Dahlia is quite spectacular.

  3. Pingback: Imperata cylindrical | Find Me A Cure

  4. Pingback: Sourwood | Find Me A Cure

Leave a comment