Swallowtail Butterfly

While I was taking pictures in the garden this afternoon I took a few shots of this lovely visitor…

The Delphinium against my back fence are in full bloom, and the bumblebees, hummingbirds and butterflies are all over them. 

This Swallowtail butterfly had a wingspan of at least 4 inches, what a beauty!

About hortophile

I am a very opinionated, slightly obsessed gardener with decades of experience in the retail nursery industry. A lucky resident of the "Wet Coast" of British Columbia I tread a muddy path between practicality and beauty, with my veggie patch, herb garden and fruits vying for position with the beautiful trees, shrubs and flowers that I can't resist. DON'T ask me to choose between them! I believe in environmental responsibility and common sense.
This entry was posted in Blue, Summer and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Swallowtail Butterfly

  1. Watch out when you are mowing, those little suckers are violent…

  2. jule1 says:

    These photos look Photoshopped! The colors are unreal, and that gorgeous butterfly looks like it’s been pinned to that fantastic blue delphinium! Could a butterfly look more absolutely perfect? I don’t think so! I can see so many bees in the flowers, too. They’re like little, hidden gems. It’s a technicolor garden!! Very, very beautiful.

  3. barb19 says:

    Absolutely stunning!

  4. Dinesh Babu says:

    This is the cool thing about Gardening…
    Nice pictures…
    I love it 🙂

  5. Slowvelder says:

    My word – those colours are just so vivid – stunning pictures

  6. Pingback: Swallowtail butterfly and happiness | Daria's World – blog about things that deserve my attention because they make me smile

  7. Pingback: Butterflies | Gallery32

  8. Pingback: Capturing The Moment — Pipevine Swallowtail Butterfly « Becoming is Superior to Being

Leave a Reply

