Winter Vegetables…a Dog’s Breakfast (Lunch and Dinner)

This year I vowed to grow a nice crop of winter veg, something to supplement the peaked (and expensive) produce that I find at my local supermarkets during the cold months.  So  around the third week of August I sowed a bed full of assorted greens along with several types of radish.

Winter Vegetables

Winter Vegetables

Everything came up gangbusters and it wasn’t long before I had fresh crunchy radishes, mustard greens, lettuce and spinach to supply my salads.

Fresh Salad

Fresh Salad

There’s something about a fresh homegrown salad that makes me feel healthy, clean and energized, and apparently I’m not the only one in the family who feels this way.

Unfortunately it’s not my husband or children who share my passion for homegrown salad…

The culprit; Amber Underfoot, aka the four-legged stomach

Amber Underfoot the salad bandit with her accomplice Lucy the Cowardly

Amber Underfoot the salad bandit with her accomplice Lucy the Cowardly

I’m afraid that any future winter salad gardens will need a protective covering of remay, or perhaps I’ll just plant inside my little greenhouse.  I don’t know that I’m interested in eating salad that I know has been dressed with lashings of dog saliva!

My winter vegetables...a real dog's breakfast!

My winter vegetables...a real dog's breakfast!

About hortophile

I am a very opinionated, slightly obsessed gardener with decades of experience in the retail nursery industry. A lucky resident of the "Wet Coast" of British Columbia I tread a muddy path between practicality and beauty, with my veggie patch, herb garden and fruits vying for position with the beautiful trees, shrubs and flowers that I can't resist. DON'T ask me to choose between them! I believe in environmental responsibility and common sense.
This entry was posted in Vegetables, Winter and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Winter Vegetables…a Dog’s Breakfast (Lunch and Dinner)

  1. Oh my gosh! That was one healthy looking row of veggies. It is usually our
    chickens that dig up our stuff.

  2. barb19 says:

    Oh no, Amber ate your winter vegetables! I think you may have to get some protection for them next time! At least she shows good taste!
    Your winter greens look deliciously fresh and tasty!

  3. You need to call her Amber the Annihilator…She is pretty freaking cute in that first picture though 🙂 how can you get mad at that face!! Hope you had a great Christmas my friend xox

    • hortophile says:

      Yes, Amber has perfected the art of beaming “I love you” from those big brown eyes, it’s hard to stay mad at her for long…

      Christmas was wonderful, if a bit rushed. We saw lots of family we haven’t seen for many years so it was all worth it!

  4. No way your dog loves salad greens! How funny! Love your beautiful garden and the lovely, late salad greens. I have always particularly liked radishes, don’t know why. I wonder what a fresh from the earth radish tastes like? Heaven, I’ll bet. But with the fresh spinach, lettuce and mustard greens I’m thinking that was some tasty and fresh salad. You’re right, I always feel so cleansed after eating a salad. And light, as well. I tend to crave salads in summer, but it would be so nice to have such fresh greens right about now.

  5. Pingback: Downside of Winter « Happenings on the Hill

Leave a comment