Greenhouse Construction, Part Deux

My new greenhouse project proceeds at a snail’s pace, just as I expected it would. My husband assures me that once the foundation is in it will move much more quickly, right now I’m practising patience, a virtue that I’m trying to cultivate.

greenhouse construction

Ditch full of drainage, plumbing and electrical services (and the warning tape!)

Last week the plumber and electrician visited and we now have services out to the building site, and the drainage/service ditch filled back in.  I spent part of my weekend replacing the sod over the ditch, patchwork fashion.  When we removed the sod earlier this year we laid the chunks out on bare ground in the flowerbeds, but they needed removing because winter-dormant bulbs and perennials are threatening to emerge through the grass!

sod replacement

patchwork sod replacement

Hopefully this weekend will see some construction of forms, but then we have a couple of busy weeks so I don’t know exactly when we’ll have a chance to pour cement.IMG_0852

In the meantime I’ve been working on acquiring some second-hand materials to lend character to the shed.  Several weeks ago while I was visiting family in Victoria, I picked up a couple of vintage doors, a knob set and an old window for my construction project.  One of the doors, the knob set and the window all date from the 1920’s and I’m super excited about how they’ll look together.

Lovely vintage door and window for my shed

Lovely vintage door and window for my shed

I also purchased a new light fixture – after checking out some vintage fixtures I decided I’d rather have something that didn’t need re-wiring or threaten to burn my shed down!  I’ve been pondering roofing materials, siding and paint colours and dredging the internet for inspiration.  I’m leaning towards metal roofing for its durability and the fact that it comes in a plethora of vivid colours.

new light fixture

And a new light fixture

The doors and window will need some major prep work and a new coat of paint and I’m sure that they are coated with lead paint so I’ll be sure to borrow a respirator when I sand them down!  Of course first I will need to decide on a colour scheme; I really want to avoid boring but am not sure how brave I will be.  I also don’t want to use colours that I will tire of immediately…

Anybody have suggestions??

About hortophile

I am a very opinionated, slightly obsessed gardener with decades of experience in the retail nursery industry. A lucky resident of the "Wet Coast" of British Columbia I tread a muddy path between practicality and beauty, with my veggie patch, herb garden and fruits vying for position with the beautiful trees, shrubs and flowers that I can't resist. DON'T ask me to choose between them! I believe in environmental responsibility and common sense.
This entry was posted in Garden Plan, Greenhouse, Spring and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Greenhouse Construction, Part Deux

  1. Jodi says:

    Paint scheme depends on your metal roof colour. Have you decided yet?

    • hortophile says:

      I think I’m going with Westform Metal’s ‘Heron Blue’ a deep, slightly grayed blue. Probably a rich red door… siding and trim, I’m not sure yet.

  2. Rachel says:

    You must be so excited! I’ve been looking at the BC Greenhouse catalogue for a while, trying to decide whether to build my own out of salvaged doors and windows, or order a new one. It will be interesting to see the set up process in your blog.

    • hortophile says:

      I an VERY excited! After considering building with reclaimed materials (love the recycling aspect) I decided to purchase one from BC Greenhouse Builders because of the quality of construction they offer and the overall durability of an aluminum frame. My attached shed will have a couple of salvaged doors and a window, along with any other materials I can source secondhand, satisfying my desire to incorporate recycling into my project.

Leave a comment