Helleborus x ballardiae ‘Pink Frost’

Oh my!  I’ve developed a serious case of plant lust…I’m totally smitten with this new hellebore, she’s a beauty!  Helleborus x ballardiae ‘Pink Frost’ is one of the latest from Germany and the breeding program of Josef Heuger’s Helleborus Gold Collection (HGC).

Helleborus x ballardiae ‘Pink Frost’

Helleborus x ballardiae ‘Pink Frost’

I was on the lookout for an exceptional hellebore to plant beside the front steps of my house and had every intention of buying a beautiful specimen of Helleborus x ericsmithii ‘Winter Moonbeam’ that we had at the garden centre, in fact I had stashed one in the staff room, but then I saw ‘Pink Frost’.

Helleborus x ericsmithii 'Winter Moonbeam' pic from Fraser's Thimble Farms

Helleborus x ericsmithii 'Winter Moonbeam'

Winter Moonbeam is lovely, flaunting sturdy, silvery mottled foliage and large, outfacing blooms that begin white and age through pink to red.  I may succumb to this one as well, but for now I had to bring home Pink Frost.  It was the delicate shade of pink atop claret coloured stems that did me in…so much glowing pink…and I’m not a big fan of pink!

Helleborus x ballardiae 'Pink Frost'

I love the colourful stems of Pink Frost

There’s something about this cultivar though, it seems to me a shade of pink that would suggest frailty, yet the flowers and the stems that hold them exude vigour and vitality.  The grower has removed the old foliage so I can’t really judge it firsthand, and this year’s new foliage is just beginning to grow, but a little internet research shows that Pink Frost has beautiful silver veined leaves tinged with the same claret as the stems.

Helleborus x ballardiae ‘Pink Frost’

Helleborus x ballardiae ‘Pink Frost’ She's a beauty!

If you find one of these lovely Helleborus x ballardiae ‘Pink Frost’ for your own garden, you should plant it where the rising or setting sun can illuminate the blossoms, and then you’ll see why I fell in love.

About hortophile

I am a very opinionated, slightly obsessed gardener with decades of experience in the retail nursery industry. A lucky resident of the "Wet Coast" of British Columbia I tread a muddy path between practicality and beauty, with my veggie patch, herb garden and fruits vying for position with the beautiful trees, shrubs and flowers that I can't resist. DON'T ask me to choose between them! I believe in environmental responsibility and common sense.
This entry was posted in Deer resistant plants, Front Garden, Spring and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Helleborus x ballardiae ‘Pink Frost’

  1. Laura Robie says:

    I’m new to this gardening thing. Is this plant an annual or a perennial? I don’t even know how to spell that!

    • hortophile says:

      Hellebores are perennial plants that grow in shade or part sun and deer generally leave them alone!

      • hortophile says:

        Give the spent foliage a gentle tug, if it doesn’t come away, THEN get out your pruners and cut it down near the base. I find that some leaves detach easily and others are more determined to stay attached, so rather than rip the entire plant out of the ground I cut them.

  2. Nanai Mayang says:

    I love this plant so much – I got one for my birthday in March 21st and I am determined to keep it alive for as long as it is destined to thrive. I’m just confused on how to remove the foliage – do I need to cut it? Or can I just pull it from the base? I’m so scared of hurting my plant – I wish someone could help me with a good advice regarding this one.

Leave a comment