Greenhouse Construction Part Three

Rhododendron A. Bedford

Rhododendron A. Bedford and friend

What a lovely spring we are having here on the west coast!  Beautiful BC indeed; mild temperatures, even a few record-breaking HOT days, interspersed with just enough rain to keep the garden happy, we have no complaints this year.

greenhouse footings

Freshly poured greenhouse footings

Unfortunately I’ve had precious little time to enjoy it, between work, kids, the garden and of course my greenhouse construction project.  I’m happy to report that the concrete work is finished… three separate pours later!  First we formed up and poured the footings, then the foundation itself, then finally the planting beds inside the greenhouse and my shed floor.

My deconstruction crew - helping to strip the forms!

My deconstruction crew – helping to strip the forms!

Greenhouse foundations

Greenhouse foundations

Many loads of drain rock, perforated pipe and fittings later, we are (almost) ready to begin building.  I am a little surprised at how much work has gone into the foundations, but very pleased to know that it’s all done properly so that the structure will be sound and last for a long time.

Greenhouse foundations

Finished foundations and planting beds

My Laburnum tree and two different purple rhododendrons (Arthur Bedford and Jonathon Shaw) are blooming in the garden bed just in front of the ‘shed’ right now and I’m imagining what they will look like next year against the backdrop of my sweet little shed/workshop.

Rhododendron Jonathon Shaw

Rhododendron Jonathon Shaw

Today our contractor was here firming up the shed plans and making a materials list, time to go shopping!  I’m not usually so happy spending my money but I’m good with laying out for this project, I know I will make excellent use of the shed and greenhouse and it will all be worth it.

It’s been really difficult to rein my plant shopping habit in though; there are so many marginally hardy plants I want now that I will have a place where I can overwinter them.  I’ve already bought a Kleim’s Hardy Gardenia and am considering whether I’d rather have a lemon or a lime tree.  I do enjoy a fresh lime libation or two…

Meanwhile, the weeds grow largely unchecked and my veggie garden lags – I’m trying not to fret about it, keeping in mind the gardeners mantra; there’s always NEXT year!

Laburnum vossii and Rhododendron A. Bedford

Laburnum vossii and Rhododendron A. Bedford

About hortophile

I am a very opinionated, slightly obsessed gardener with decades of experience in the retail nursery industry. A lucky resident of the "Wet Coast" of British Columbia I tread a muddy path between practicality and beauty, with my veggie patch, herb garden and fruits vying for position with the beautiful trees, shrubs and flowers that I can't resist. DON'T ask me to choose between them! I believe in environmental responsibility and common sense.
This entry was posted in Greenhouse, Spring and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Greenhouse Construction Part Three

  1. Will Morris says:

    Looks great, I can’t wait to see what the finished product will look like, keep me posted. And, I will show you a thing or two, while I am waiting on updates pictures!

Leave a comment